Drought and Rain by Ea Sola at Sadlers Wells Mon.19-Tue.20 Sep 2011

An extract from an email to me by a critic of and writer on dance (and other performance arts):

Did you see this at QEH more than a decade ago? I did not but caught it up in Edinburgh and it’s a beuat, I highly recommend it.”

I was interested in the piece anyway, but that made it certain I’ll go to see it. My reply:

No, I don’t even remember knowing it was on at the QEH. If I’d been in Edinburgh longer it’s definitely something that I would have gone to, so thank you for recommending it, and I’ll go to it, not sure which day. The Guardian review is very good too:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/culture/2011/sep/05/ea-sola-drought-and-rain-review

More details:
http://www.sadlerswells.com/show/Ea-Sola-Drought-and-Rain

French Vietnamese choreographer Ea Sola was born in Vietnam and trained in Paris. She left her homeland at the height of the war and returned in 1990 to conduct five years of research on the traditional music and dance of Vietnam and the lasting effect of the war on its people.

The culmination of this research was 1995’s Drought and Rain, a work that celebrates historical and cultural memory and meditates on the cost of conflict and imperialism. Now, 16 years later, together with a group of elderly women from the north of Vietnam whose singing had consoled the soldiers in the front lines and an ensemble of six virtuoso traditional musicians, Ea Sola has recreated this moving work.

Shifting between hypnotically slow, graceful movements and urgent, almost visceral reactions, they create a powerful and hugely compelling account of the human legacy of war with performers who lived through it.

Watch this video – Out of Asia: the future of contemporary dance?
http://www.sadlerswells.com/standalonevideo.php?video=63786503001,1122646295001&show=4004&more=1
A short film with a focus on Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan, Beijing Dance Theater and TAO Dance Theatre, plus interviews with Alistair Spalding and Akram Khan discussing the importance of dance in the East.

Watch an interview with Ea Sola on Sadler’s Wells Screen:
http://www.sadlerswells.com/page/screen/1042300969001

Part of Out of Asia

About Colin Bartlett

I'm interested in arts, mathematics, science. Suliram is a partial conflation of the names of three good actors: Ira Aldridge, Anna May Wong, and another. My intention is to use a personal experience of arts to make some points, but without being too "me me me" about it. And to follow Strunk's Elements of Style. Except that I won't always "be definite": I prefer Niels Bohr's precept that you shouldn't write clearer than you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

