Twitterverse, what is THE most romantic, love-declaration English language song EVER?

A Twitter tweet on Friday 11 January 2012: “Twitterverse, what is THE most romantic, love-declaration English language song EVER?”

Alas, I suspect that none of the following fit in with the subsequent clarifying tweet: “… I need a giant, unquestionably declamatory tune…”

However, if translations into English are allowed, then maybe some (sung in English) arias from Puccini (La Boheme, Madame Butterfly – but not any aria sung by that duplicitous swine Pinkerton). (I really like the Song to the Moon from Dvorak’s opera Rusalka, but I don’t think it quite fits the specification?)

Maybe “Tonight” from West Side Story? It has a great tune.

**
But anyway (and possibly “Unchained Melody” does fit the requirements?):

Suggestions by @DonaldHutera at @ThePlaceLondon (for contemporary dance) on Friday.11.January.2012 at about 21:00:

* “Lover Man” sung by Billie Holliday

* “Unchained Melody” (Actually from the lyrics and the tune, this might fit the requirements.)

* “If I Loved You” from Carousel by Rodgers & Hammerstein

* “True Love” from High Society

Suggestions by me:

* “To Lizbie Browne” by Thomas Hardy set by: I thought by Ralph Vaughan Williams, but maybe by Gerald Finzi: anyway, in the setting I have in mind it is touching and simple, but probably doesn’t fit the specification
http://www.daypoems.net/poems/1035.html

* “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” by The Beatles – touching and simple, and I think it does fit the specification

* A song chosen by Tom Lehrer on “Desert Island Discs”:
“Ice Cream” (How I remembered it, but it seems it’s called “Vanilla Ice Cream”), touching and simple, and I think it also works if we change “He” to “She”, and maybe it also works if we change “He” (or “She”) to “You”. (It’s from a musical “She Loves Me”.)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/features/desert-island-discs/castaway/68f4e8ed
** Addendum – well that was how I remembered it from Desert Island Disc but now let’s look at the actual lyrics and see what the song is actually about – it sort of fits my memory of it, but not precisely.

* The sequence of lines in “As You Like It” by Shakespeare from just before this:
PHEBE: Good shepherd, tell this youth what ’tis to love.
SILVIUS: It is to be all made of sighs and tears; And so am I for Phebe.
PHEBE: And I for Ganymede.
ORLANDO: And I for Rosalind.
ROSALIND: And I for no woman.
SILVIUS: It is to be all made of faith and service; And so am I for Phebe.
PHEBE: And I for Ganymede.
ORLANDO: And I for Rosalind.
ROSALIND: And I for no woman.
to just after that: I don’t think that’s cheating because in this case I think the words are also the music.
http://shakespeare.mit.edu/asyoulikeit/asyoulikeit.5.2.html

Footnote:

I was also going to quote two songs by Tom Lehrer as an “Anti-Valentine” note, but I’ll resist: I can’t, however, resist:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Lehrer

The album liner notes (and Lehrer himself in one routine) promote Tom Lehrer’s songs using reverse psychology, by deliberately quoting his negative reviews. (“I know it’s very bad form to quote one’s own reviews, but there is something the New York Times said about me [in 1958], that I have always treasured: ‘Mr. Lehrer’s muse [is] not fettered by such inhibiting factors as taste.”)

About Colin Bartlett

I'm interested in arts, mathematics, science. Suliram is a partial conflation of the names of three good actors: Ira Aldridge, Anna May Wong, and another. My intention is to use a personal experience of arts to make some points, but without being too "me me me" about it. And to follow Strunk's Elements of Style. Except that I won't always "be definite": I prefer Niels Bohr's precept that you shouldn't write clearer than you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

