George Walker piano pieces played by Kamilla Arku

A recommendation of a free lunchtime piano recital by Kamilla Arku at St Martins in the Fields Church in Trafalgar Square (London) at 13:00 on Friday 30 August 2013.

About ten years ago I was browsing in Harold Moores Records and found a double CD of piano music by African-American composers played by Natalie Hinderas. It looked interesting so I bought it. I was particularly struck by the Piano Sonata 1 by George Walker – it seemed to me to be comparable to Aaron Copland’s wonderful Piano Variations, both in terms of its sound world and the high quality of the music.

So I was delighted when earlier this year by chance I noticed that a musician I didn’t know was playing pieces by George Walker at St Pancras Church in London. I went. Suffice it to say his “Prelude & Caprice” are good. The prelude is perhaps reminiscent of some of Shostakovich’s Preludes & Fugues for piano. Except that rather one should say that some of Shostakovich’s Preludes & Fugues are reminiscent of George Walker’s “Prelude” for piano, because his Prelude was written in 1945, but Shostakovich’s were written in 1950-51.

And now I’m even more delighted that Kamilla Arku will be playing music by George Walker at St Martin in the Fields.

About Colin Bartlett

I'm interested in arts, mathematics, science. Suliram is a partial conflation of the names of three good actors: Ira Aldridge, Anna May Wong, and another. My intention is to use a personal experience of arts to make some points, but without being too "me me me" about it. And to follow Strunk's Elements of Style. Except that I won't always "be definite": I prefer Niels Bohr's precept that you shouldn't write clearer than you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

